Tuesday, June 2, 2009

Time to Get Serious?

I keep thinking it is time to get serious with training....I keep thinking.....anyway, I am back from my brothers wedding which was fantastic. I actually had an opportunity to let my family and friends know about the world championships which was very cool. To my surprise my daughter was telling people what a bad ass I am...It was a proud moment!

This weekend I go to Lake Berryessa for an Open Water Swim. I really love these events because I love to swim so much and especially in the open water. I have found that going to these events gives me a bit of an edge in triathlon because I get a lot of practice with the logistics of open water swimming. If all you ever do is swim in a pool the open water can be daunting. Getting in the water with a bunch of people can be scary and you can get knocked around a bit. Then there is the navigation which can be difficult. These things can be practiced in a pool for instance to practice sighting you can swim and keep lifiting your head which is something you have to do to keep an eye on the bouys when you are in the open water. Navigatin incorrectly can cost you a lot of time in a race. so on Saturday I will be swimming in the 2 mile event and the one mile event. I plan to take it relatively easy on the 2 mile and really work the 1 mile to practice for worlds. A couple of other women from the club will be going...this swim is a good one because they have a wet suit division which is new to open water swimming. There is a purist attitude in swimmers that say it is uncool to swim in a wet suit...like it is cheating but there are more and more triathletes taking to open water swims.

Till next time....keep on trucking!!

No comments:

Post a Comment